ORIGINAL MUSIC FOR THE EXORCIST DEEMED “TOO FRIGHTENING”

I think that the musical score for films is definitely a reason for a character to become a legend. Strains of the theme for Halloween are right now running through my head, as is Tubular Bells. It complemented The Exorcist so well, but did you know that Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield was not the original music written for this classic film?

220px-Exorcist_ver2Lalo Schifrin wrote the original working score, but audiences were reportedly too frightened by the combination of the visuals and sounds. Since the music for the trailer was only six minutes long, I got curious about what Schifrin had done that could have caused this sort of impact in such a short spate of time. Not willing to leave it alone, I went digging in search of a snippet I could listen to so I could judge for myself. I indeed found a short bit on Youtube. In my personal opinion, I would have fallen over dead in a heap if that music had been accompanied the masterful film.

The term “sensory overload” springs to mind and it’s yet another thing to bear in mind when making movies and bringing a character to life. What is going to enhance the film and what is going to dominate it? In this case, I believe the movie would have been superseded by the riveting piece that Schifrin came up with. Although brilliant, listening to it alone sends shivers up my spine and has me running for the shelter of the nearest church.

Please listen for yourselves. Would love to hear your feedback on what you think.

About WPotocki

I live and write in NYC. If that isn't scary enough, I write in the genre of horror. All my works can be purchased and enjoyed so don't hold yourself back or anything. http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Potocki/e/B002BRGIP6
This entry was posted in Chilling Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ORIGINAL MUSIC FOR THE EXORCIST DEEMED “TOO FRIGHTENING”

  1. susanjmcleod says:

    Lalo Schifrin is a genius!!

Leave a Reply

